About authors
Galina Gabriel, Ph.D. in History of Arts, member of the Russia Artists Union, member of the International Association of Art Critics (AICA)
In the jewelry saturated area of St. Petersburg, the creative duo of Vitaly Veryovkin and Olga Shabanova has long found place. They have been in the jewelry business for a few decades and during that time they have found their circle of connoisseurs and admirers and favorite themes and subjects have emerged in their work with characteristic artistic techniques where priorities in the choice of materials and technologies have been outlined. In recent years, this tandem has been joined by their son - Michail, who continues and develops the ideas and discoveries of the elder generation.
    The main theme of the works of these artists is the natural world in all its manifestations. With this passion for the beauty of the universe, for everything that grows, flies and swims, Vitaly, Olga and Michail remind me of the brilliant work of Rene Lalique and wider - the era of Art Nouveau ornaments. But we are talking about a copy or imitation of the great masters of that time: actually we are talking about the general approach to conceptual work solving, the ability to organically combine stone and metal and create the image of their jewelry in this harmony.    
  Stone is of great importance in their work and it is not always just a gem. The inclusion of carved gemstones in the composition, often unique in their beauty and color saturation is the hallmark of the craftsmen. Most often, this stone becomes a semantic center, the dominant ornament, endowed in the metaphorical plan. An amazing Chukchi agate can embody the beauty of the winter landscape or a feeling of twilight fluctuation, precious opals can be associated to a deep blue summer sky or become a metaphor of shimmering sunlight on a forest lake, a carved topaz gives the hardness of a crustacean shell, and the gentle light of citrine could be a taraxacum... There is usually a composition of placers with faceted demantoid, diamonds, sapphires around the carved stone, making a harmonious and sonorous ensemble together with the central stone .... Focusing their attention to the stone, the craftsmen do not forget about the metal, which is never a passive backdrop for the stone. They prefer to work with gold, which is a malleable material for the craftsmen, enabling them to create a whimsical and elegant accompaniment for the stone organically connecting them in an expressive balance. Hot enamel is often added to the metal, which not only allows to diversify the color palette, but also to create a specific image, such as a bumblebee, a dragonfly, which the craftsmen are so fond of portraying and they excel at it. Insects are fragile, mobile, made in motion, creating an illusion «beyond reality» .... And each time, I consider the jewelry work of these artists I feel pleasure upon seeing this fascinating picture of the universe, so lovingly and enthusiastically embodied in the stone and metal ….
Pictures of the exclusive and original ornaments in this website have been created using jewelry techniques with elements of stone-cutting plastics. Precious metals (gold and silver) coexist with precious, semi-precious and precious stones within them.

>

Об авторах
ENG
Галина Габриэль, кандидат искусствоведения, член Союза Художников России, член Международной Ассоциации   искусствоведов и критиков (АИС)

В насыщенном ювелирном пространстве Санкт-Петербурга творческий дуэт Виталия Веревкина и Ольги Шабановой  давно и прочно занял свою нишу.  В ювелирном деле они уже несколько десятилетий и за это время  обрели свой круг ценителей и почитателей,  в их творчестве сформировались любимые  темы и сюжеты, характерные художественные приемы, обозначились приоритеты в выборе материалов и технологий. В последние годы к этому тандему органично присоединился сын - Михаил,   продолжающий и развивающий идеи и находки старшего поколения.
  
     Главная тема работ этих  художников - мир  природы во всех ее проявлениях.  В этой страстной любви к красоте мироздания, ко всему, что растет, летает, плавает Виталий,  Ольга и Михаил напоминают мне  творчество гениального Рене Лалика и шире - украшения  эпохи  Ар Нуво. Но речь не идет о  копировании или подражании  великим мастерам того времени: скорее можно говорить об общности подхода к концептуальному решению работ, в умении органично соединить камень и металл, и на этой гармонии создать  образ ювелирной вещи.    
 
     Камень занимает решающее значение в их работах и это   не всегда  только камень драгоценный. Включение в композиции резного полудрагоценного камня, часто уникального по красоте и цветовой насыщенности  - характерная особенность  украшений этих мастеров. Именно такой  камень  чаще всего становится смысловым центром, доминантой   украшения, наделяется  метафорическим планом. Изумительный чукотский агат может воплощать  в работе красоту зимнего пейзажа  или зыбкость сумеречных  ощущений, благородные опалы будут рождать ассоциации с глубоким синим летним небом или стать метафорой  мерцающего при солнечном свете лесного озера,   резной раухтопаз передаст твердость панциря  рака,  а  нежный цитрин станет легким одуванчиком... Рядом с  резным камнем, вокруг которого обычно строится композиции украшения,  как правило появляется россыпь граненных демантоидов, бриллиантов, сапфиров,   составляя вместе с центральным камнем  гармоничный и звучный ансамбль.... Уделяя большое внимание  в работе  камню,  художники не  забывают и о металле, который никогда не бывает у них пассивным  фоном для камня. В своих работах они предпочитают работать с золотом - материалом отзывчивым на движение руки мастера, дающим возможность создать  прихотливое и изящное сопровождение  камню, органично соединить их в выразительном  равновесии. К металлу часто добавляется горячая эмаль, позволяющая  не просто разнообразить цветовую палитру, но и создать  конкретный образ, например, шмеля, стрекозы, которых так любят изображать художники, и делают это замечательно. Насекомые  хрупки, подвижны, даны в момент движения,  создавая иллюзию «сверх реальности».... И каждый раз рассматривая ювелирные украшения  этих  художников я испытываю удовольствие от созерцания этой завораживающей  картины мироздания, так  любовно и увлеченно  воплощенной в камне и металле ….